DIY Clay Necklaces PLUS A GIVEAWAY!!

Friends, I will be the first to admit… I’ve been a little MIA lately. I have tons of ideas and projects floating around in my noggin, but I haven’t felt the best these past few weeks and have been trying to listen to my body and take it easy.

Plus, OMG guys… It all-of-a-sudden became winter, right?! Like whoa. Can you believe it is almost Thanksgiving?! GAH! Me neither. So much to be thankful for and happy about – life is really beautiful.

Amongst my resting, I diiiiiid have a chance to do one craft though, and I think you’ll love it! A necklace with an awesome DIY Clay Pendant! Awesome ADDED Bonus?? You can WIN one of these bad boys!! Wanna see? Follow meeee!!!!

IMG_2299Here are the supplies you will need to make your own:

DIY Clay Necklace - Repurposeful BoutiqueThe instructions are pretty simple…. Take a chunk of clay and roll it around in your hands, warming it up. Once it’s pliable, take a rolling pin and roll it flat!

DIY Clay Necklace - Repurposeful BoutiqueTake a circle mold – I used the lid of a bottle of vitamins – and punch out your circle. You could use a bottle cap if you want a smaller circle or any various “lipped” lid as a cheap punch! We are being so frugal and crafty, yes??

I bought my cute little stamp set at Hobby Lobby – They were $6 and I used a 40% of coupon, so they were pretty affordable. They are just regular stamps, so I can use them with ink too. COURT FOR THE WIN! The first one I made, I wanted to be for me, so I made “C ❤ B” for Ben and I. 
DIY Clay Necklace - Repurposeful BoutiqueNext, I took my handy dandy little exacto knife and cut a rough little hole in the top – It can be rough, because you can always press and mold the clay to have a little softer edges. This was right after I hacked it – to show how basic it can be 🙂

DIY Clay Necklace - Repurposeful BoutiqueLay your little clay charm on a piece of wax paper on top of a cookie sheet and bake that bad boy!! The clay package doesn’t have baking instructions, but if you just google “sculpey baking instructions” there are many tutorials. The long and short? Bake them for about 15 minutes at 275 degrees. Easy peasy. Take ’em out and let ’em cool.

The last step is to make them into a necklace. SOMEDAY I will post an actual step-by-step on how to do basic jewelry (if you want me to) but for now, we’ll just talk it out together.

Measure out the length of chain you want your necklace to be. I decided I wanted mine to be 2 tiers, so I measured 2 contrasting lengths of chain. I linked both chains together at each end using a jump ring and then attached closures on each end.

Put a jump ring through the hole in your clay pendant and attach it to the center of your chain. Since I was doing a 2 tier necklace, I had my clay pendant on the bottom tier and hung a lost-and-found earring on the top tier. And Voila!! You are done!!

IMG_2298Cute, huh?! I love how it turned out – I love jewelry that is a little “imperfect” and love that the “c ❤ b” is a little off-centered. It’s kind of artsy fartsy…

IMG_2280But do you wanna know the coolest thing of ALL???

You can to WIN A FREE NECKLACE!! 

IMG_2288Oh, that’s right… I made TWO necklaces and am going to be giving away THIS necklace to one of my lucky readers!

IMG_2263It’s a 2 tier necklace with a LOVE clay pendant on the bottom and an arrow charm on the top tier – CUUUUUTE!!

IMG_2261So, wanna get this necklace for FREE????? It’s super easy!

 

Just follow these 2 steps!

1. “Like” Repurposeful Boutique on Facebook – click HERE

2. Leave a comment below! You can let me know what craft you are working on, what recipe you are jonesin’ to try or what your favorite Repurposeful craft has been!

 

Easy, huh? A winner will be selected at random. I will contact the winner and mail you this necklace, completely free of charge! It’s my Thanksgiving gift to you and a BIG ole thank you for being here and supporting me.

IMG_2299Make sure to enter to win the necklace, check us out on Facebook and Pinterest, follow us and tune in soon for another fun project. Have a great Pre-Thanksgiving and have a repurposeful day!! xo- Court

9 thoughts on “DIY Clay Necklaces PLUS A GIVEAWAY!!

  1. These are so cuuuute! I am working on making throw pillows for our bed out of the shirt my husband wore when we got married and the skirt I made for when we got married. I’m trying to figure out a unique wayy of using my husbands shirt as it is a full button up with pockets, any thoughts?

      • That would be awesome! You’re so sweet! It may be awhile before it’s complete, I have so little time these days! But I will definitely take pics and show you the finished product 🙂

      • That would be awesome! You’re so sweet! It may be awhile before it’s complete, I have so little time these days! Then again who doesn’t, lol! But I will definitely take pics and show you the finished product 🙂

  2. I love reading about all of your projects! Now if only we lived closer so you could just decorate my place, that would be fantastic! I miss you and can’t wait to see you and Ben soon!

Leave a Reply

