Easy Frozen Butterbeer!

Last month, Ben and I spent a long weekend at Universal Studios in Orlando, basking in the warm Harry Potter glow… We miss it. We still talk about it almost everyday. It sounds corny, but between the 2 Harry Potter worlds, it was absolutely MAGICAL. We spent hours everyday sitting outside of Gringotts, eating ice cream, looking at all the buildings, eating English food and drinking Butterbeer. A few weeks ago, I took a whack at Pumpkin Juice, but letsbehonest… it’s just the red-headed step-child of Harry Potter drinks.

If you want the true HP experience, you want Butterbeer. Period. Butterbeer - Repurposeful

I spent HOURS researching recipes and brainstorming until I stumbled upon a blog called “bake me away!” The author, Jessica, gives an awesome explanation of what SHE interpreted the ingredients were, and I agreed 100%. To read her blog post, click HERE.  I made my own variation, but I was soooo glad when I read her ingredient list! Some recipes were suggesting to reinvent the wheel, but not hers. Why in the world should I try to make my own Cream Soda?? AIN’T NOBODY GOT TIME FO THAT!!!

Want to have your own little slice of a Wizarding World today?? Let’s do it!

Butterbeer - RepurposefulIngredients:

  • Cream Soda
  • Whipping Cream
  • Butterscotch Ice Cream Topping
  • Vanilla Extract (not pictured)

In my version of the recipe, I used an ice cream maker and a hand mixer, but I will give helpful hints if you don’t have them! 

Butterbeer - RepurposefulThe first step in making your drink is to pour your cream soda in a bowl – I used 2 cans since I was making a cup for Ben and a cup for me. Take approximately 1 tablespoon of Butterscotch topping and stir it into your soda. Don’t worry about getting all the chunks out, it will disperse in the next few steps! OK! Set your bowl of soda aside for juuuuust a second 🙂

Butterbeer - RepurposefulNow we are going to work on the topping!! Grab a cup (or bowl if mixing by hand) and pour in about 1 cup of Whipping Cream, 1/2 teaspoon of vanilla extract and 1-2 tablespoons of butterscotch topping. Again, this is for 2 portions. I started with 1 tablespoon of butterscotch, whipped it and wanted more zing, so I added another tablespoon. You want to make yours to YOUR taste, so I would suggest the same… start with a little and add more if needed.

Butterbeer - RepurposefulCan we just take a second to appreciate this butterscotch??!! I am no great photographer, but I was mesmerized by it… And I had to lick the spoon. A few times. Yuuuuummmmm….

Butterbeer - RepurposefulOK – this next step you will either need a mixer or a little arm strength. I used my little antique stand mixer and whipped it up! If you do not have a mixer (or if it’s buried somewhere in kitchen-land) just grab a whisk and go to town.

Butterbeer - Repurposeful

You are looking for a thick consistency, almost yogurt like – so you can see the “peaks” when you pull your mixer out. OK! You’re topping is good to go, so set it aside for a few minutes!

Butterbeer - RepurposefulTime to freeze the drink! I have a Krups Ice Cream Maker that works great, but any ice cream freezer will work. You take the bowl and put it in the freezer about 5-6 hours before you need to use it. And then you just grab it out, put it on the base, slap the lid on and turn it “on”. It spins and scrapes the inside, turning whatever you put in into a frozen treat. The possibilities really are endless. Ben and I have made coconut milk ice cream, green tea ice cream, frozen yogurt, etc. It’s super fast and doesn’t need any salt or any weird witchcraft.

For this recipe, I turned it on and slowly poured my cream soda/butterscotch mixture in. I checked on it a few times, but it only took 5-7 minutes to get it the perfect amount of slushy!

Now, if you do not have an ice cream freezer, have no fear. You can do this several ways… Pour the soda in a shallow bowl and freeze it, stirring every half hour, letting it crystalize. You can also put your cans/bottle of cream soda in the freezer and gently shake it every half hour to disperse the crystals. But watch it carefully, you don’t want your cans exploding. You can also make this non-frozen, and just shove your cream soda in the fridge.

Butterbeer - RepurposefulAnd you are DONE! Spoon your slushy mixture into glasses and spoon your topping on top. I always mix mine up with my straw because I LOVE the topping in every mouthful, but you can drink it however you want 🙂

I think it would be easy to make this for a Halloween party or a Harry Potter Marathon night (we still have those… I don’t know about YOU).

Butterbeer - RepurposefulWhat do you guys think? Easy, right??? The whole process took less than 12 minutes to do. And if I had started my ice cream maker FIRST and then made my topping while it was freezing, it would have been even quicker! I loved it and it took me RIGHT back to Florida, listening to owls hooting, people screaming in the background, the smell of fish and chips and seeing kids running around in cloaks, talking about broomsticks and wands. Magical. 🙂

Butterbeer - Repurposeful

Get to brewin’, friends! And let me know how your Butterbeer turns out! Be sure to check us out on Facebook and Pinterest, follow this blog to catch all our posts, and tune in again soon… I just made a picture frame that I can’t WAIT to share with ya’ll! xo- Court

 

This blog post was featured on:

Lil Mrs Tori

2 thoughts on “Easy Frozen Butterbeer!

Leave a comment