DIY Pillow : Sweater Transformation #2

Hi Friends!! The past few days I’ve been sharing some projects I have been working on, repurposed from a thrift store sweater!

To read about the original sweater before transformation, click the sweater image below!IMG_1242

And to see the first project, a DIY Scarf, click the scarf image below!

Scarf Sweater Transformation

Today I am happy to share with you Transformation #2 – a DIY Pillow!

PIllow Sweater TransformationThis project was soooo easy and turned out great! I used the “torso” part of the sweater to make a great little pillow for our bed! Here is a play-by-play on how you can make your own sweater pillow:

1. Create a crease or draw a line from armpit to armpit. Cut along that crease/line, separating the sleeves, shoulder, clavicle section of the sweater from the torso section. At this point, you should have a rectangle (or you can cut lower down the torso for a square, whatever shape you are wanting).

2. Turn your sweater inside out, so you can see the ugly part of the side seams. You will need to close the 2 open ends, so sew up one side of the ends and sew up allllllllmost all of the other side, leaving about 1-2 inches open.

3. Use that opening to turn your pillow right-side out so now you are looking at it in its pillowy glory.

PIllow Sweater Transformation

4. Now is your chance to embellish, if you would like to. I took some white embroidery floss and stitched a quick vine design onto the corner of the pillow. You could also do initials, a word/short phrase, attach buttons, flowers, whatever! The world is your pillowy oyster!

5. Fill your pillow with fluff n’ stuff. My dog, Ella destroyed a 2 bed pillows a few years ago, which totally sucked. But luckily I kept the fluff in a trash bag for instances JUST like this πŸ™‚ Hoarder? Goodness no. I just know valuable materials when I see ’em!

6. Hand stitch the remaining 1-2 inch opening to close and finish it up!

PIllow Sweater Transformation

PIllow Sweater Transformation

Always give your pillow a “test drive”. This one is good πŸ™‚

PIllow Sweater Transformation

PIllow Sweater Transformation

a glamourous “behind-the-scene” shot πŸ™‚

PIllow Sweater TransformationAnd as always, no craft project at my house would be complete without one of my animals crashin’ my photo shoot. Ella is my beautiful 6 year old pitbull mix and even SHE thinks this pillow is soft and comfy! πŸ™‚

PIllow Sweater Transformation

I think that “face” wants me to wrap it up!

What do you guys think? Is this a project you think you would want to tackle? I would love to hear your feedback and see your projects!! Be sure to leave a comment, check out our Facebook HEREΒ and make sure to tune in tomorrow to see my last and FAVORITE Sweater Transformation! Love you friends and have a sweeeeeeeeeeet, repurposeful day! xo- Court

One thought on “DIY Pillow : Sweater Transformation #2

Leave a Reply

