6 things I love…

6 things I love blue

My house is a disaster. I feel like I can be honest with all of you, mainly since only my mother, husband and 2 friends read this- and they already know what a mess I am.

My house is just COVERED in boxes, piles (garage sale pile + clothes to modify pile + clean clothes (?) pile + books pile + pictures to hang pile) and I feel like I may never fully get unpacked. But never fear. In the midst of unpacking (meaning “while I should be unpacking”) I have started working on some fun little projects that I can’t wait to share with you!!

Until then, here is a list of 6 things I am loving right now- Feel free to comment below and link up articles, websites, items and projects you are loving right now too! SHARE TIME!!


 

1. An awesome perspective on stay-at-home life

stay at home

Click the image to take you to the original post!

I loved Chaunie’s perspective on being a stay-at-home wife, mom, husband, father… There is still a stigma attached to it, but it really IS a luxury to have someone doing all the necessary home duties! The subject is near and dear to my heart, since my mom has been as stay-at-home since us kiddos came about – and does a BANG UP job of it! Here’s an “ah-HA!” quote from her article:

“I work full time and my husband is a stay at home dad. We have two kids in school full day (8 to 3). Don’t you realize how much easier it is to hold a full time job when you have someone home with the kids? I can work late and travel when I need to and not worry about the kids. Our weekends are spent relaxing, instead of racing around to get errands and chores done. I can go back to work on Mondays having actually recharged over the weekend. It feels like such a luxury to ME to have a stay at home spouse.”

Check out her article – it’s awesome 🙂
http://www.babble.com/relationships/being-a-stay-at-home-parent-is-a-luxury-for-your-spouse/

2. Wallpaper… Yay or nay?

 

wallpaper1

Click the image to take you to the original post!

Emily from Cupcakes and Cashmere offers several styles of current wallpaper examples and I have decided that I love almost all of them!  I am wondering how I can incorporate a few into our rental… Check out her post and let me know which are your favorites! I’m digging the “subtle shimmer” and “bold & busy”…

http://cupcakesandcashmere.com/decor/6-rooms-that-will-make-you-want-to-use-wallpaper

3. Time Capsule Clothing

fall capsule

Click the image to take you to the original post!

Have you ever heard of Time Capsule Clothing?? I hadn’t and I am SOOOO intrigued. Basically, you pick a certain number of clothing items (usually between 30-40) and those are the only items you wear for a season. You pack up all your other clothes and just mix and match the 30-40 you have out. When that season is over, you pull out your packed up clothes and pick out your next season’s capsule of clothes. If I worked from home or was self-employed, I would SO do this. Even with a desk job, I still might try.

Caroline, from Unfancy does an awesome job of explaining HER Fall Capsule Clothes— and I love them all. I wonder if she would swap closets….

http://www.un-fancy.com/capsule-wardrobe-101/my-capsule-wardrobe-fall-2014/

4. My favorite exercise song right now

This. Song. I love it so much. “Party Animal” by Con Bro Chill.

I don’t know what it is, but every time I hear it, I want to move. Which is rare. I originally heard it when devinsupertramp used it in his awesome ziplining video and I’ve been hooked ever since! Check out the video— if it doesn’t make your palms sweat, I don’t know what will…

I have it as the first song on my exercise playlist, played it on my wedding day to pump me up before walking down the aisle and if I went clubbing, would request it everywhere I went. You should listen. And imagine wind blowing through your hair as you fist pump in neon spandex.

 

5. Oh Joy! Collection at Target

15203050

Click the image to take you to the original post!

Oh Joy! is such a cool blog – PLUS they designed a line of home goods for Target which I think is basically the best thing ever. Can you even imagine designing something that thousands of people have in their homes and love? Yeah, me neither. I used to be a silver girl but I love all the bright fun things people are doing with gold. And not to be a hack, but I think I could totally make something similar to this, right?!

Click HERE to see Oh Joy!’s creative process developing the line

Click HERE to see their line for sale at Target

6. This quote ❤

This is taken from Unfancy again – and I love it!

“Let me introduce you to one of my favorite people: Benjamin Zander. If I could pick anyone in the world to adopt as a grandfather, it would be this guy. He’s the renown conductor of the Boston Philharmonic + a wildly innovative, out-of-the-box thinker. He says: ‘I actively train my students that when they make a mistake, they are to lift their arms in the air, smile, and say, ‘How fascinating!” It is only when we make mistakes that we can really begin to notice what needs attention.

(Don’t you love that mental picture? A bunch of serious musicians throwing their arms in the air and exclaiming to themselves? Makes me smile every time.)

Another mistake? How fascinating! Another opportunity to learn something just presented itself.” 

I love this mindset. My default is not this, but I would love to train myself to look at a mistake and see it as an opportunity to learn.

http://www.un-fancy.com/personal-reflections/summer-wrap-up-least-worn-pieces/


So, there are a few things I am digging right now.

Let me know what you are feeling right now and make sure to check back in in a few days to see some more projects and inspiration! Have a happy, repurposeful day! xo- Court

 

For legal sake, I must say that I do not claim any rights to any of the products, items or descriptions that are mentioned in this post. All credit is given to the original artist or author. I just like ’em!

One thought on “6 things I love…

  1. Skip the wallpaper and use a big stencil for the same effect! Much easier when you have to move:)
    Love you,
    Your biggest fan,
    Stay-at-home Mom

Leave a comment