Thrift Store Art Project!

I love to see old things take on a second life!!! You might have guessed how much I like repurposing things from the title of this blog, but seriously, guys, repurposing tired, old things – things that would end up in a landfill or worse – and making them fun, functional and relevant gives me a MAJOR rush.

Yesterday, I decided to take an 80’s, faded, crappy cardboard “painting” and try to make something meaningful and personal out of it!

Thrift Store Sticker Art

BEFORE

I don’t think pictures can PROPERLY capture the true essence of, ahem, “cheapness” that encompasses this painting… It’s a lightweight gold plastic frame and the picture is a print on (basically) cardboard, stapled onto the frame. From a distance, the picture isn’t that bad! But trust me… up close, not good. The top right of the painting wasn’t transferred on correctly and just exposes the white backing, it has some cracks in the frame, and you know what?? I LOVE IT!!! I saw it at a thrift store and immediately nabbed it up. Look at the shape of that frame! I bought it initially to tear apart and use the frame on a needlepoint project, but for some reason I could never bring myself to dismantle it. And now I’m glad I didn’t! 🙂

I wanted to do a reverse paint job by putting stickers directly on the picture, painting the entire background, leaving the design showing through the letters. The phrase I decided to use was a line from my vows when I got married April of this year. I wrote a song for my vows and the end of the chorus was, “I promise you, this much is true… I love you.”

Thrift Store Sticker Art

DURING

I figured out that I would need 5 “rows” for font, so I roughly drew some lines directly on the painting. Don’t worry – you will be painting over this. I just eyeballed it, but feel free to measure, divide by your lines, (blah blah blah) if you want it perfect. I wasn’t aiming for perfection though – so the eyeballs did the trick.

Thrift Store Sticker Art

These are the stickers I used. I bought them awhile ago at Michael’s Arts and Craft store for around $3.00 and there were plenty of letters leftover for more projects.

NOTE : After doing this project, I can tell you, bigger is better. I wish I would have used thicker, more rounded letters so there was more painting showing under the letters. Now we know, right kids?!

Thrift Store Sticker Art

DURING

After I had my letters and numbers where I wanted them, I taped off the frame so it wouldn’t get all “painty”. I would have liked to just remove my painting from the frame, but since it was all stapled together, taping off was easier.

Now it’s time to PAINT! You can use any color you want, but since this was my first attempt, I thought black would be easiest (and only require one coat). I slapped on regular run-of-the-mill acrylic paint and let it dry as I sang along to “Beauty and the Beast” and doodled.

Once the paint is all dry, slowly peel off each letter and your tape – and you are DONE! Feel free to touch up any areas that need it!

Thrift Store Sticker Art

AFTER

Not bad, huh?! Not perfect, but it was an easy, fun project and I will happily do it again!

Thrift Store Sticker Art

I had my camera outside and decided to snap a few extra pictures: one of Ella, happy to be running her little paws off, and one of me, too!

ella

She owns my heart <3…. such a sweet little doggus!

Courtney

Do you have an old painting sitting around somewhere, needing a fresh paint job?? Let me know if you try this out and what you think! Be sure to follow the blog, like us on Facebook and if you have a spare second, take the one question poll below! Thanks for checking in and have a crafty, repurposeful day! xo- Court

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i[‘GoogleAnalyticsObject’]=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){
(i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o),
m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m)
})(window,document,’script’,’//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js’,’ga’);

ga(‘create’, ‘UA-55380080-1’, ‘auto’);
ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

Leave a Reply

