Courtney and Ben’s Day at the Dump!

IMG_6238 a

Ah yes… what an alluring title.

This past weekend was an interesting one— Ben and I decided that we REALLY need a hitch for our Jeep, so we can get a trailer to haul furniture around (and maybe boats? please?). His Jeep requires a special sort of hitch and since we are 100% against paying full price for anything, we decided to go to a “Pull-a-Part” car dump and see if a wrecked or abandoned car had what we needed. It was a balmy 92 degrees with 95% humidity. The perfect day for it. :/

IMG_6227

They aren’t messing around. This is an art.

 

I don’t know if you have ever been to one of these places, but it’s like a sad, sad car graveyard… This is all I could think of for the first half-hour…

brave little toaster

Rest in Peace, little buddies!!! *weeping*

Anyway, we found the Jeep section and proceeded to find BILLIONS (slight exaggeration) of hitches – none of which were the right one.

My job was to hunt around, scoping out all the hitches and figuring out which ones MAY fit on the Jeep.

IMG_6240

My job was ALSO to find chairs that needed a good “sit for a bit”

Then Ben’s job was to either measure or remove the hitch to see if it would work. His job was only slightly harder than mine.

IMG_6234

So rugged and handsome. ❤

We did this for about 4 hours and went to 3 (yes, THREE) different car burial grounds.

I know the suspense is killing you, so I am just going to tell you the ending of the story: We did not find the right hitch.

IMG_6250 a

“Ehh, Herro? Hitch???”

Ben did an awesome job and I was really impressed by his “know-how” – but there was simply no hitch to be found.

IMG_6253

“Will this one work? No? Awesome.”

Now, call me a girly-girl or an optimist, but I found SO many treasures on the ground there! Pieces of glass that were pretty, bolts as big as your face, little critters and THESE:

IMG_6246 a

(removes sunglasses) “Mother. Of. God…”

I immediately started trying to shove these sparkly rocks into my pockets, faster than a Gollum- and had to restrain myself and remind Ben I am a fiend for the glitz. I was always shoving rocks in my pockets, in my bookbag, in my drawers. This is straight up gravel. But I still wanted to horde it and take all the sparkles home.

IMG_6248 a

This picture looks like I killed Ben with the rock! HAHAHAHAHA!!!!!!

In the end, we were drenched in sweat, thirsty and a little disgruntled. Especially after doing this at THREE different places. But we had a good time and laughed a lot. Plus, I’ll just say it was detox day and pretend like we were at a sauna.

IMG_6221 aa

Ant-Man wannabe’s

We also decided to audition to be in the new Ant-Man movie that is going to be filming here in Atlanta. We went to an Open Casting Call and did all that jazz. It would be a fun project, filling in as an extra for a day or two! Ben will get in, I’m sure. He’s already been in 3 movies… it’s that beard, I tell ya!

I promise to be back to crafting in no time — we are in the process of packing and I am SO excited that we have a house to rent – AND that it has an awesome space for a work room. Crafts, you’d better watch your back… we’re coming…

Now, to close, I will tell my joke that I saved until the END of the day finding a hitch.

Ben: Oh God, you have a joke? Ehh, ok, what is it?

Courtney: *clearing throat* We’ve got 99 problems, but a hitch ain’t one!

Crickets

Have a wonderful and repurposeful day, friendsies!!! xo – Court

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i[‘GoogleAnalyticsObject’]=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){
(i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o),
m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m)
})(window,document,’script’,’//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js’,’ga’);

ga(‘create’, ‘UA-55380080-1’, ‘auto’);
ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

Leave a Reply

