DIY Teal End Table Repurpose – Another POP of color!

Have you ever bought a piece of furniture that most people would totally pass up?

That’s most of the items in our house. Ben and I love collecting things for really cheap that can be repurposed and given a fresh new life! Sometimes it’s awesome (like “Yeah, look at all this STUFF I MADE!!”) and sometimes it sucks (like “Crap, why don’t I have anything NEW?!”) But I couldn’t change who I am, even if I tried. I will always be drawn to something damaged that I can nab for a few bucks that has unlimited potential to turn into something cool!

This DIY redo features a great piece of damaged furniture that I bought about 10 years ago— and STILL love!Image

I got this awesome, cylindrical end table (coffee table?) at Hobby Lobby back in my college years. It was REALLY cheap (like 90% off) because it had a big hole in the front of it and lots of scuffs and scrapes. I didn’t care. It was one of my first “adult” purchases and I loved it!

But even I had to admit that it was starting to look like a 10-year-old end table and I thought a fresh little facelift might be just what it needed! Lucky for it (and me) I found an AWESOME can of “oops” paint at Lowes and immediately knew that these 2 were made for each other!

Image

The first thing I did was cover the hole in the front of it with painters tape. Scoff if you want, but seriously, this is the easiest patch job ever. I wouldn’t use this method on something that gets a lot of wear-n-tear, but you can barely see the patch, the paint covered over it beautifully and we can’t even tell it was there. I lived with it for 10 years with a hole in the front— I can deal with a shadow of a piece of tape. 🙂

The next step was to take all the knobs and pulls off of the table. The pieces I wasn’t able to remove, like the metal on the top, got taped off.

 Image

Here is the paint I used! Just like the red high gloss coffee table I redid (https://repurposefulboutique.wordpress.com/2014/06/03/diy-high-gloss-coffee-table-repurpose/) I had lofty goals for this piece that I achieved with a very limited budget! I decided to base coat it with an “oops” can of tinted 2-in-1 primer (left can), used my special “oops” paint for the main color (right can) and then covered it in clear gloss polyurethane to give it a shiny finish (middle can)!

Image

Halfway there!! This is the table after 2 coats of primer/base coat. Since I was going for a lighter color, making sure I had a bright, even surface was really important.

Image

The next step was to paint it in this AWESOME teal color!! Can you believe this was a $3 can of “Oops” paint? SCORE!! I did 2 coats of teal to make sure it was even steven. I barely used any paint and I walked around my house like Gollum for about 30 minutes trying to find more things to paint. “My…. Precious……”

After all the paint was dry, I used a sponge brush and applied my polyurethane to protect it AND give it a beautiful shine 🙂 Once dry, I reattached the knobs. Et VOILA! Done.

 Image

What do you think? Cute, huh?! I think it’s a nice pop of color.

And check out that patch job!!! You can’t even see the hole anymore, right?!

Image

 It’s not “staged” but here is what our living room looks like now, with our 2 POPS of color, Ben’s sexy legs and my adorable pup Ella. I love both of these pieces of furniture… they are so happy and bright 🙂 And since we have a tan couch, tan carpet, tan walls, tan cat tree… we can use all the pops of color we can get!!!

I’d love to hear from you! Has a color or piece of furniture inspired you to create a fun space in your house? Let me know and have a repurposeful day!

xo – court

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i[‘GoogleAnalyticsObject’]=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){
(i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o),
m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m)
})(window,document,’script’,’//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js’,’ga’);

ga(‘create’, ‘UA-55380080-1’, ‘auto’);
ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

2 thoughts on “DIY Teal End Table Repurpose – Another POP of color!

Leave a Reply

