Chevron Wall!

We are finally moved in here in Atlanta, and have officially hooked up internet and cable! Most of our boxes are unpacked and a lot of stuff is starting to go on the walls! Our little apartment is starting to feel like home… and I love it πŸ™‚

We’ve been living out of 2 homes for over a year now, and it’s just great to get ALL of our stuff in one place, have a chance to sort and toss- I call it going through “the urge to purge” πŸ™‚

Today, I want to share my POP ART WALL consisting of a Chevron design and a HUGE piece of Ben’s art!

Chevron Wall Art

CHEVRON WALL ART!!

I knew I wanted to paint a chevron design on the walls, SOMEWHERE in our apartment… Ben and I have a “different” sense of style… it’s a mixture of pop art, comics, antiques, rustic, Β and a bunch of homemade stuff! He has a HUGE cut out of Wolverine (from the Marvel comics), made out of light foam and I knew I could only fit him into certain areas of our home πŸ™‚ He’s freaking HUGE…. Like, bigger than me. But he fit in our hallway, AND there was a fuse box in the hallway that I wanted to cover, but still have accessible. WIN WIN!!!

Now, I thought about painting a design on the wall, behind Wolverine, but my mom suggested using painters tape instead, and my brain started whirring… I tried to do this the “right way”, honestly. I pulled out a chalk line thing, planned on making a grid so everything would be uniform… but that’s just not me. Plus, my chalk line broke after making 2 lines. No thanks. So…… this is all just “eyeballed” πŸ˜‰

TheΒ best thing about this project? It’s completely temporary. If I decide I hate it, or if we move, in about 10 minutes it can be a blank wall again. I love that…. I’m not afraid to commit, but it’s nice when you don’t HAVE to πŸ™‚

photo 2 a

The only items I used for this project was blue painters tape and a razor blade!

I started around the middle of the wall, built my first zig-zag across the wall, overlapping the tape (as seen in the picture above). Once I got all the way across the wall, I stopped, eyed it one more time, to make sure it looked symmetrical, and then I cut off the excess on each of the points, with my razor blade. Use a sharp one, because crisp edges really make this design pop!

I continued to move down, one row at a time, until I got to the bottom of the wall!

photo 3 a

Ok, so this picture was my “wall of excess”—Every time I cut off an extra piece, I stuck it to the adjoining wall, just so it wouldn’t get into my carpet… And I think it looks kinda cool! To me, if I squint, it looks like a flock of birds, flying off into the distance. I ended up throwing them all away, but I wanted to share πŸ™‚

photo 4 a

This is what the wall looked like when I was finished with my chevron design! It’s not perfectly symmetrical, but I think it turned out AMAZING, considering I did it all free hand! I contemplated putting a border on the top of the design, to finish it off, but decided to put ole’ Wolverine up first, to make sure I needed it!

photo 5 a

See? He’s HUGE!!!! I decided that I wanted to add a border, but really liked the look. So, down he went, and I just made a horizontal double line above the chevrons….

photo 6 a

VOILA!!! Done! What do you think? Cool, huh?

Believe it or not, this entire project only took about 45 minutes to do, from start to finish!

I’m in love with painters tape, and might have to do more projects with it soon… What about you? Is there an area of your home that needs a temporary Pop Art PUNCH? Let me know and as always, have a repurposeful day! ❀

xo,

Court

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i[‘GoogleAnalyticsObject’]=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){
(i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o),
m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m)
})(window,document,’script’,’//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js’,’ga’);

ga(‘create’, ‘UA-55380080-1’, ‘auto’);
ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

2 thoughts on “Chevron Wall!

Leave a Reply

