Thursday Throwdown: Map Challenge Reveal!!

 

Happy Thursday, Friends!!!

I had a BUUUSY but fun Labor Day weekend, and I hope you did too! Back to the daily grind…

Last Thursday I posted a Map Challenge and I couldn’t wait to get stated on my own little Map project! Today, I’m excited to showcase 3 awesome, fun and totally DIY projects featuring MAPS!

Courtney’s Map Project—

 

c Map 1

 

A note from me:

” I am engaged to an AMAZING guy, named Ben. He is seriously one of the best things that has ever happened to me!! I may be a bit biased, but I think we have a pretty great story too! This project tracks our journey— We met in Kansas, in college. We lost track of each other and after 2 divorces and several years later, re-found each other and fell in love in Indiana. Last month, Ben moved to Atlanta, to start a new job and pave the way for our new lives down there, so Georgia is where our story will continue! 

As far as the project goes, it was all repurposed stuff! I found the wooden “thing” at Goodwill Outlet for less than $1 (I think it’s a plate display thing, but I have no clue…), painted part of it white, printed off maps of each state, cut out a heart shape out of the maps, plopped them on white cardstock and attached little clothes pins to hang the papers from. The bling at the top is just a scrap of leftover ribbon and random buttons and gems I had in my “mismatch” jewelry box! Pretty easy, totally personalized and (if I may say) super cute!” 

Repurposeful Map Courtney 2

A close up of the “bling” 🙂

Repurposeful Maps Courtney 3

the MAPS!

 

Dori’s Map Flower—

d map 1

A Note from Dori:

“Well, this project I did was a total cheat!  I whipped that puppy out in about 45 minutes!  It is a large paper flower that I used an almanac for the petals.  The idea is from “Whimsical Perspective”.  She has an easy to follow tutorial on her website:

 
I wanted a bible verse for the center to remind me of God’s great creativeness in the world-my favorite is:  When I consider the Heavens,the work of Your fingers- the moon, the stars,which You set in place, what is man that you are mindful of him- the son of man that you care for him?  Psalm 8:3-4 … It wouldn’t fit … Honestly, I spent more time looking for a relevant short scripture than making the flower!  I used my Cricut with markers to write the bible verse.  And I crinkled my petals because it was bound to happen sooner or later! “
 
 
d map 2
 

EEEEEEEEP!!! How stinking CUTE?!?! I love the flower made out of a map!!! I would have never thought of something like this, but I’m so glad you DID! I love it!!   -court

Dori’s Dog Sign—

Repurposeful Maps Dori 3

Cuuuuuuuuuuute!

A note from Dori:

“This project I made for my husband’s office.  We have no grandchildren or children left at home, so our 3 dogs have become our ‘babies’. He liked it so much, he left it home today :/    

Anyhoo, I used more Almanac pages to cut out the cute pup, using my Cricut Nursery Rhymes cartridge. I used my cricut markers to write the words on craft cardstock, and colored them in with a marker…nothing special but fun to do! 
 
 
Thanks Courtney for the challenge!  “
 

Repurposeful Maps Dori 4

 

Thanks for your great ideas and fun DIY projects! I have a few projects I am working on that I can’t wait to share with all of you!

Like what you see? Leave a comment or note! And if you have ideas for future challenges, drop me a line and let me know!

Enjoy the rest of your “short week” and have a repurposeful day!

xo-court

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i[‘GoogleAnalyticsObject’]=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){
(i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o),
m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m)
})(window,document,’script’,’//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js’,’ga’);

ga(‘create’, ‘UA-55380080-1’, ‘auto’);
ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

3 thoughts on “Thursday Throwdown: Map Challenge Reveal!!

Leave a Reply

