Throwdown Thursday: Chalkboard Challenge Projects!

Repurposeful Chalkboard Challenge

Repurposeful Chalkboard Challenge

I asked and YOU PROVIDED!!! YAY!

I had 2 people send me CUUUUUUTE DIY Chalkboards for our Chalkboard Challenge THROWDOWN THURSDAY! Here are their projects!

Beth’s Chalkboard sign—- 

Note from Beth: 

“I kind of procrastinated on this challenge but here it is, DONE!!

I live in a rental home so all the cool chalkboard ideas that I wanted to work with aren’t allowed.  I wanted to do my son’s closet door with chalkboard paint, but alas I cannot.  I ended up finding an old sign I had in a box that hadn’t been unpacked yet.  So aside from the chalk & paint, I didn’t spend much to make it!

Of course the lawn care company covered it in dirt, but I saved it and now it’s hanging in my front room for whenever I feel like jotting a note to my husband on his way out the door!  I love it!

P.S.  I used the spray paint kind aaaaaand it took me 5 different stores to find actual chalk!!!”

Repurposeful Chalkboard Challenge

Repurposeful Chalkboard Challenge

Beth After a

Beth, I LOVE IT— so cute and such a fun repurpose! I’m so glad you sent your project in and I can’t WAIT to see more from you!!!

xo- Court

Dori’s Chalkboard Cabinet Door—

Note from Dori:

“I bought a few old cabinet doors at a salvage yard and decided they would be perfect for the chalkboard challenge! I wanted to make a sign that to put on a wall with family pictures and my wedding picture, and I thought this would be the perfect solution. I love how it turned out and can’t wait to hang it up!” 

Repurposeful Chalkboard Challenge

 

Repurposeful Chalkboard Challenge

 

 

Repurposeful Chalkboard Challenge

LOOOOOOOOOOOOOOVE!!!! I am proud to be a Slater too!!!

xo- Court

Dori’s Repurposed Chalkboard Frame

Note from Dori:

“I was on a roll and decided to do one more chalkboard project! I recently bought this old frame and couldn’t wait to paint and distress it. I floated brown paint over the frame and then wiped off the raised areas, letting the brown paint stay in the recesses of the frame. Once it was dry, I put a piece of paneling in the back of the frame and made it a chalkboard!”

Repurposeful Chalkboard Challenge

 

Repurposeful Chalkboard Challenge

 

Repurposeful Chalkboard Challenge

OMG- I could die… That distressing is gorgeous! I love all the personality is has! YAY!!!

xo- Court

Courtney’s Chalkboard Sign—

Note from ME!!!

“My friend, Tracie, recently asked me to make her a sign that had the lyrics of “You are my sunshine” on it. She sings this song to her little boys and I couldn’t wait to start this project for her. I love her so much, she has done so much for me and wanted her to have something special! 

I started with a 16×20 art canvas and covered it with 3 coats of flat acrylic paint. Once it was totally dry, I graphed out the quote, figuring out how to center it, how big to make the letters and how large the spaces should be. I wrote everything lightly in pencil and then came back with white acrylic paint and hand painted all the lettering. Once it was dry, I erased any pencil markings and took fine sandpaper and went over the entire canvas… it distresses the paint, adds a bit of “chalk” residue and makes it look a bit less like a painting. I popped it in a clearance frame and happily gave it to her this past weekend. I think she liked it 😉 “

Repurposeful Chalkboard Challenge

Repurposeful Chalkboard Challenge

Repurposeful Chalkboard Challenge

 

How. Fun. Is. THAT??? Didn’t the girls do AMAZING?! I am so glad that people decided to take the plunge and do this challenge with me!

I can’t wait to post another challenge next Thursday and see what we all can come up with!

Love something? Let them know! Leave a comment! And be sure to tune in next week for another THURSDAY THROWDOWN!!!!

Have a chalky, repurposeful day!! ❤

xo- court

(function(i,s,o,g,r,a,m){i[‘GoogleAnalyticsObject’]=r;i[r]=i[r]||function(){
(i[r].q=i[r].q||[]).push(arguments)},i[r].l=1*new Date();a=s.createElement(o),
m=s.getElementsByTagName(o)[0];a.async=1;a.src=g;m.parentNode.insertBefore(a,m)
})(window,document,’script’,’//www.google-analytics.com/analytics.js’,’ga’);

ga(‘create’, ‘UA-55380080-1’, ‘auto’);
ga(‘send’, ‘pageview’);

One thought on “Throwdown Thursday: Chalkboard Challenge Projects!

  1. I love the chalkboard projects! I’m amazed at the hand lettering on the You Are My Sunshine plaque. Also, Dori’s frame and the distressing! You guys would love to work with Annie Sloan, Ce Ce Caldwell, or American Paint Company chalk/clay/mineral paints. They go on without sanding or prep work, and distress wonderfully. There are gobs of blogs about them with lots of pictures. I bet you’d really like them.

Leave a Reply

